Lebbeus Woods “War and Architecture: three principles”

Lebbeus Woods (MI 1940- NY2012) an architect and visionary you must know. The majority of his explorations deal with the design of systems in crisis: the order of the existing being confronted by the order of the new. On this post “war and architecture” he proposes a reconstruction prospect based on three principles. Great contribution *) |

| Lebbeus Woods (MI 1940 – NY2012) arquitecto y visionario que te invitamos a estudiar. La mayor parte de sus ideas y exploraciones se relacionan con el diseño de sistemas en crisis donde el orden del ser existente está confrontado por el orden de lo nuevo. En este post “guerra y arquitectura” propone una perspectiva de reconstrucción basada en tres principios. Gran aporte *)

an extract from his book… | un pequeño extracto de su libro…

“Architecture and war are not incompatible. Architecture is war. War is architecture. I am at war with my time, with history, with all authority that resides in fixed and frightened forms. I am one of millions who do not fit in, who have no home, no family, no doctrine, no firm place to call my own, no known beginning or end, no “sacred and primordial site.” I declare war on all icons and finalities, on all histories that would chain me with my own falseness, my own pitiful fears. I know only moments, and lifetimes that are as moments, and forms that appear with infinite strength, then “melt into air.” I am an architect, a constructor of worlds, a sensualist who worships the flesh, the melody, a silhouette against the darkening sky. I cannot know your name. Nor you can know mine. Tomorrow, we begin together the construction of a city..”

Woods Lebbeus (2002). War and Architecture. New Yok: Princeton Architectural Press. pp. 1. ISBN 1-56898-011-6.

LEBBEUS WOODS

Note to the readers: I wish to apologize for what must seem a blatant self-promotion in this post, but it is not possible to separate the personal from the conceptual, because the two stories are here so fully intertwined. As I said in an earlier post, the ideas developed in this work have such currency in the present that, I believe, it is a necessary risk to take. I can only ask for the readers’ generous forbearance.

LW

(above) The front cover of War and Architecture, an issue in the Pamphlet Architecture series that I took with me to Sarajevo in late November, 1993, when the city was under attack. I must thank Clare Jacobson, its editor, and Kevin Lippert, its publisher, who worked hard to ensure that I would have it on the date of my departure for Sarajevo. The text is in English and Croatian, thanks to…

Ver la entrada original 1.346 palabras más

Responder

